Money Savings Class available nationwide!

(I’ve been teaching a Money Saving Strategies Class  for about a year now and for the first time ever, we will take this class live!  If you have wanted to attend my class but live too far away, THIS is your chance….  I’ll give you more information at the end of this blog.)

Everybody wants to save money.  I don’t know anyone who goes through life saying “I want to waste my cash.”  And if you sit down and look at what’s going on in the life of your checkbook, unfortunately you will find that there are not a lot of areas in your life you can really cut back on.  The car insurance is pretty much the same every month.  The electric bill could be reduced a little, the house payment is the same every month, the gas to and from work varies but is always a big part of the budget.  So if most of the necessary expenses are pretty consistent, how in the world can we save money??

Groceries.  Everybody eats, most everybody enjoys eating.  I’ll stop right here to tell you, I’m not one of the Extreme Couponing women that spends 20+ hours a week finding, cutting, clipping coupons and another 20+ hours grocery shopping and stockpiling.  I am a minister’s wife, a full time photographer and I homeschool our 2 children – 3 full time jobs if you ask me.  I simply do not have time to travel all over town and visit several stores to take advantage of the deals I find.  I shop at one store (Kroger) and I have come to know that store very well.  I know when they do markdowns, when the least crowded time to go is and which cashiers like coupons and which don’t.

I spend about an hour a week gathering, clipping and organizing my coupons.  And most of the time, it’s done while doing other activities and it always involves my family.  My children have gotten better than me at finding the coupons and even my 5 year old helps out!  He loves cutting out coupons or a.k.a.…. refining his small motor skills….

I’ve found that I win or lose the money savings battle not in the grocery store but in my living room.  I research the sales and coupons and make a meal plan and grocery list before I ever leave home.  The first few weeks, it involved a time investment of about 2 hours but now that I’ve gotten into a routine, an hour is all it takes.

The website www.thekrazycouponlady.com has been a valuable tool for me.  It is completely free and it tells you what is on sale at your store any given week and if there are any coupons available for those sale items.  Use this website in conjunction with your family’s meal plan to get some great savings.  I have two children (ages 5 and 8) and our grocery bill for our family of 4 is typically under $60 per week.  We budget $100 per week to put towards things we find on a very good sale (to put into our stockpile or give to our church’s food bank) or to save up for bigger items like shoes, coats, backpacks, etc.

Alright, now for the more information….  This class will be taught LIVE this Saturday, February 25th, 2012 from 10 a.m. until 12:00 noon.  If you can’t join us live at those hours, it’s okay!  Go ahead and register and you get a mp3 download of the class to listen to as many times as you need to!  Here’s the event page link:   http://ibloom.co/events/savemoney!

I’ll see you there!

One thought on “Money Savings Class available nationwide!

Leave a Reply

