Stupid Burger…

I met my goal for last week’s weigh in!  I weighed in at 164.4 – exactly 40 pounds lost since this journey began 22 weeks ago on January 18, 2011.  I feel like that’s a pretty significant accomplishment.  My struggle now is to not let that number satisfy me.  I’m still in size 14’s (although they are becoming more lose every day) and have quite a bit of extra padding  around my middle I want to see gone.  I have 14.4 pounds to go until I get to my first goal weight of 150.  Then we’ll see how I feel and where my body wants to go from there.

For some reason, I have been craving burgers.  Not just any burger, I want the really, really bad for you one:  McDonald’s Double Cheeseburger.  I’ve craved it for about 2 months now but was able to curb that desire with my own homemade healthier version.  This week, I had a Boca burger (fantastic, by the way) with Veggie Swiss Cheese, Morning Star Farms Veggie Bacon on a whole wheat bun w/ lots of veggies.  Tasted fantastic but I woke up the next morning having dreamed about that Micky D’s Cheeseburger.  Pretty bad when you’re DREAMING about food, right??  I have been eating lots more junk the past week and in my mind, I thought it might be because I wanted this burger so bad.  I decided it would be better to go just ahead and eat that stupid burger before my entire waistline pays for the deprivation I’m putting my body through.  🙂

So Saturday was the day.  I went to a homeschooling convention and my husband and children stayed home (a rare day out by myself).  After the convention, I drove to the first McDonald’s I could see.  Those golden arches might as well have been the gateway into heaven as far as I was concerned.  My mouth began watering at the sight.  I pulled in the parking lot, took a deep breath, picked up my Tosca Reno Clean Eating for Family & Kids book (Is there no end to my hypocrisy?) and headed to that oasis of grease and cheese on a bun…..

When I walked in the door, there were over a dozen people in line (one register open) but I didn’t care.  My children weren’t waiting restlessly in line, nobody was hurrying me to get to the next event on our schedule, so I just stood there.  And waited.  And waited.  While I was waiting, and waiting…. (and waiting)… I started noticing the things around me I don’t typically notice.  Out of the 12 people in line, 3 seemed to be a healthy weight.  The other 9 were overweight or even obese.  The workers behind the counter seemed to hate what they were doing and drudged about watching the sea of frustrated sharks waiting for their grease on a bun with eager anticipation…. to get out of there.   Then I noticed the signs advertising their food.  One board advertised a breakfast menu “Each under 300 calories” and right underneath, a sign advertising their Rolo McFlurry along with the loaded with sugar smoothies.  The images were of healthy, well dressed people enjoying this nasty processed stuff they call food.  They really know how to make that stuff look appealing.  No wonder our culture has such a backwards view of food.

By the time I waited over 20 minutes in this environment for that burger I’ve been craving for 2 months, that burger looked a lot less appealing.  I paid my $1.06 and headed out the door (I got it to go).  I get to my van, turn on the A/C, take a deep breath as I thank God for this “food” – I didn’t dare ask him to bless my body with nourishment from this thing – and opened up that beautiful golden wrapper.

…………………………TO FIND THE WRONG ORDER!……………………   they gave me a single.  😦

I have not been waiting for 2 months to enjoy this “treat” to get jipped into enjoying only 1/2!  So you know what I did??  That’s right, honey, I went back.  Only this time, I didn’t enter that sea of sharks (there were at least 14-16 more people in there now), I decided to go to the drive through.  When I got the window, well….. (shaking my head)…. this is so sad….  here’s the conversation:

MCD – “May I take your order?”

Me –   “I just came in and ordered a plain double cheese burger.  When I got to my car, I opened it and it was a single.”

MCD – “So, do you want to bring it back inside?”

Me – “No, I just came from in there and saw the crowds so I drove to the window.”

MCD – “You got what you want, right?  You ordered  a single and got a double?”

Me – “Eh?  No, I ordered a double and got a single.”

MCD – “So you want to come inside and get the right order?”

Me – (wondering if this was a special needs worker) “Ummmm, no, I want to get it fixed through the drive through.”

MCD – “So what were you trying to order?”

Me – (Are you kidding me??) “I ordered a plain double cheeseburger and got a single.”

MCD – “How many burgers did you get?”

Me –  “One.”

MCD – “So you got what you ordered?”

Me – (really trying to remember to be kind) “No, I ordered  a plain double cheeseburger and got a single.”

MCD – “So what do you want me to do about it?
Me – “Fix the order and give me a double cheese burger?”

MCD – “How many pieces of cheese do you want on it?”

Me – “I don’t care, whatever usually comes on a plain double cheeseburger.”

MCD – “How many burgers do you want on the bun?

Me – “What??  I want 2 burgers with cheese on 1 bun… the stuff that usually comes on a plain double cheeseburger.”

MCD – “Okay, ma’m, please drive around.”

When I drove around, she told me my total was $4.  When I told her I was the one with the messed up order, she looked at me very confused and asked me why I came through the drive through and didn’t go inside the store.  ****GRRRRRRR****  I seriously am not a violent person but THIS is what was going through my head:

Needless to say, by the time I got my plain double cheeseburger 33 minutes after I walked in the door, I was frustrated and ready to just eat the thing.  I tried taking a deep breath and enjoying it.  It was not hot, it only had one piece of cheese on it and the bun was stale.  ugh….

Stupid burger…..

3 thoughts on “Stupid Burger…

  1. OMG. I’m soooo sorry your special event turned into a bad skit of who’s on first. I couldn’t help but laugh at that conversation but that’s only because it wasn’t me who was involved. Next time (dare there be a next time) or anytime for that matter your are in a restaurant of any type and you don’t get what you ordered immediately return and ask for the manager on duty. Do not stand in line, do not wait at the door – PASS GO and GET IT FIXED!! I’m so sorry you had to endure that but even after you got it fixed it still didn’t live up to your expectations and I’m sure it wouldn’t have even if it was ready right and hot etc. Tastes change and as you wean off the crap foods you will see that even if you think you want something you really don’t. You can do yourself a lot better with your own double cheese burger at home and don’t be afraid to use a beef patty! Bocas are good but are certainly no substitute for ground beef when that’s what your body wants. I crave burgers when I’m lacking protein. Pick a nice lean meat and go for it!! You certainly deserve it and if you do it yourself it’s a lot better than what McD’s does anyday.

    Like

  2. Tammy, I read about your (mis)adventure in the BurgerLand and sooo felt for you… And then for myself, for I give in to my belly cravings way too often.

    As the result, as my wife Irina gently pointed out, my face is about three times the size it was on our wedding day…. (Wonderfully, hers isn’t.:) And no, I never find the truth offensive… Who else will tell us the most inconvenient but useful truth but our spouses?

    In any case, I have two questions, one public and one private:

    1. Public: Is Tosca Reno Clean Eating book the only one you use as your dieting guide?
    2. Private: Could you email me at anvoro@gmail.com? – I don’t seem to have your email… This second question has nothing that needs to be shared with or could benefit the wider audience reading your blog.

    Please, pass my warmest regards to Tommy,

    Andrei

    Like

Leave a Reply

