Heck yeah, I bought it!

So last week, I was given the challenge of living through my very first weight GAIN since I began this journey 21 weeks ago on January 18, 2011.  I gained 2 pounds over the previous week.  So here are some of my lessons learned:

– My body does not respond well to stress

– Stress is evil

– I hate stress

and

– Stress messes with my weight

So all in all, the lesson I learned is: AVOID STRESS!  I’ve discovered this amazing stress-reducer of a website called www.ProductiveBalance.com    It’s a fantastic website application that helps me prioritize and really helps reduce stress.  If I have 4-5 things to do on my list for today, I put them in order of prirority (by assigning points) and linking them to my core values (which Productive Balance helped me set up, too).  At the end of the day, I can see where the things I checked off as accomplished affect my life as a whole.  Example:  I put 15 minutes with each kid (I call them Mommy Minutes) each night as an action item on my to-do list and attach it to my core value of “family relationships.”  At the end of the week, I can look back at how much I worked towards building up that core value and which values I have neglected.  Helps me figure out where to spend more time to maintain balance.  Productive Balance has been great in my weight loss journey.  I add my workouts as high priority items and if I miss them or half way do them, I see that on the charts and I know where I need to focus in the future.  Fantastic tool.  If you’re interested in trying it – try it free for 2 weeks and tell them Tammy Lanham sent you, you’ll receive a special offer.  (I know…. I carry that kind of clout!!  HAHA!!)  If nothing else, it’ll really help you develop your core values.  We’ve all got them but most of us have never written them down and really looked at them.

Back to the weight loss – I have had some non-scale victories this week.  You know those size 14’s I was tickled about getting into 3 weeks ago?  Well, they are loose and 2 or 3 pair of capri’s have already gone into the “too big” pile.  I went to JCPenney’s and found a dress I absolutely LOVED.  It was purple polka-dotted, fitted and gorgoeus!  Best of all?  It was a SIZE 12!!!!!  Holy cow!  Heck, yeah I bought it!  It was on sale AND I had a coupon for it!  🙂  Here’s a pic but soon I’ll post a pic of ME in it.

Did you know the non-plus size clothing sections at JCPenney are HUGE!  I’ve never in my life seen so many clothes I could actually fit into!!  Seriously folks, I’ve been shopping in the plus sizes since high school.  I honestly had to ask the sales associate what was the difference between the women’s sizes, plus sizes, misses sizes and juniors.  When she showed me all the sections that contained my size, I about fell over.  Honestly, it was overwhelming to see the choices I had.  I always thought I had a good variety to choose from in plus sizes but this was crazy!!  And this is personal so men, skip this line…. I got fitted for a bra and went from a 44 to a 36!  I haven’t been in a 36 since 10th grade!

This week’s official weigh-in:  165.0 – yeah!  I’ve lost 39.4 pounds and I’ve got 15 more to hit my goal weight of 150.  🙂  We’ll see if I’m ready to stop there or if my body keeps going.  That’s the great thing about this – I’m  not on a diet.  I’m changing my lifestyle.  The weight will stop where it will……….

My goal for next week is to exceed 40 pounds lost.   I think that’s very doable.   Wanna see if I reach it?  Go ahead & sign up to follow this blog by clicking “Yes, I’m in!  Sign me up!” on the right hand side of this blog and then go visit Productive Balance and get organized!  🙂

One thought on “Heck yeah, I bought it!

  1. You are making it happen!
    My weigh-in is this Friday and I had stopped writing down what I eat for a couple weeks. NOT SMART. I started back yesterday writing it ALL down. If you hear a loud grown on Friday all the way from Lexington, that will be me!
    However, I am now back on track.
    You continue to inspire me. THANKS.

    Like

Leave a Reply

