Frustration

Weighed in this morning… very frustrated.  I only lost .4 this week.  I guess I should be happy I didn’t gain but I really worked hard this week and was wanting to reach the 10 pounds lost mark (194).  My session with my life coach Brian Osher last week may have actually prepared me for the number this week.  He was really encouraging and kept telling me “Slow & steady wins the race.”  In fact, my husband Tommy Lanham preached a message on Sunday morning entited… “Moving Forward in Faith – slow and steady wins the race.”  What??  Are you guys ganging up on me now???  Geesh!

Anyway, I think I did pretty well this week – I worked out on the eliptical every day (even the 3 days I had a tummy bug) for at least 10 minutes and did 15 on Monday.  I was careful with my portions and added extra fruits and veggies to my diet.  I did however have some drama in my life this week and I HATE drama.  I think satan is trying to tempt me in the area I am most vulnerable – emotional eating.  I thought I had done well and made it through.  I certainly did not overeat any this week – which, by the way makes for 17 days in a row that I’ve been sober!  🙂  I write in a journal every day and it’s mostly verses I read or things I hear that are encouraging to me.  On the hard days, I go back through and read some of the entries.  Here are some for this week.  Maybe they’ll help you, too:

“Good habits take time to develop.  This is a crockpot, not a microwave.  There are no shortcuts to maturity.”

Proverbs 28:9  “God has no use for the prayers of the people who won’t listen to him.”

Phil 1:6  “He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion.”

“Slow and steady wins the race.”

Though unseen, God’s strength and power are under me, pushing me up, protecting me and enabling me to fly.

Proverbs 25:16  “When you’re given a box of candy, don’t gulp it all down; eat too much chocolate and you’ll make yourself sick.”  (How appropriate is that for me this week???  My #1 weakness is chocolate and unfortunately, I’ve been known to eat it all in one sitting.)

“Replacing habits takes time.  don’t expect it to happen overnight.”

“Results will come the right way.”

All of these things are quite encouraging but when reading them after a week of focus and effort with little reward, they kind of irk me.  I want to lose weight NOW – I’m tired of this, I want the scales to reflect my discipline… my giving up chocolate that day this week when I really could’ve eaten the whole box!  That’s at least worth a pound lost, right???  Then I turn on the TV and see The Biggest Loser where people are losing double digit amounts of weight every week – I can’t even make it to one whole digit!  See my frustration?

I’m not giving up – it’s totally a mental thing because right now my body and spirit say “Forget this… it’s not worth the hard work for such little reward.”  But I know it’s for the good – I have to keep remembering the words of my daughter in that fitting room… “Mommy, your legs are fat.”  Yep, I’ll keep going for another day, and then another, and then another.  I will not give up.  Don’t you give up either.  I’ll kick your butt.  😉

4 thoughts on “Frustration

  1. Tammy, that is totally normal. I’ve lost (and gained) so many times I can’t count, so I know this to be true. You always lose a bunch of weight the first week or two, mostly water, then your body tries to balance itself out. Hang on, the best is yet to come! The next weight you lose will be fat, not water.
    -Lynda White

    Like

  2. You need to tackle WHY you overeat/eat when you’re not hungry before the weight loss will come. Not just triggers – they are the surface reasons. Dig deeper. Really (I mean REALLY) write it out. Is it because it brings you comfort that, seemingly, nothing else does? Do you use food to sabotage yourself or use it as a punishment because you think you really don’t deserve to be happy? Why have you build that brick wall (excess weight) around yourself? Because you are afraid to let people see the REAL you? Maybe you are afraid of the real you. Once you figure out why you use food as a vice (again, not triggers, but REAL reasons), you can then get to the science of weight loss, which is easy: burn more calories than you eat. The brick wall will come tumbling down without any effort when you get to the heart of the matter. Good luck!

    Like

  3. I am looking forward to your next report. You are inspiring by Being the Change we need in Kentucky for our health. Keep it up, or I suppose that should read keep it down! Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

