Stupid wagon

Fell off the stupid wagon – and you know why?  Because I went out to eat with my husband last night for his birthday at CiCi’s (pizza buffet) and for some reason, didn’t know when to stop.  I’m so frustrated with myself!  I had been doing so good!!  Now to remember the stuff I’ve been reading everyday during my devotions & reading time.

“Faith offers hope where none existed.”  – Zig Ziglar

“Every problem is a stepping stone of growth, and every difficulty is an opportunity to trust God more completely, to follow Christ’s example of selfless service and to experience God’s presence.  Out faith-filled response to pain results in great gain.”

“Hard work always pays off.”  – Proverbs 14:23

“Refuse good advice and watch your plans fail; take good counsel and watch them succeed.”  Proverbs 15:22

I’ve been thinking…  if I’m going to treat this like a disease, I really need to research AA and some of the other additional help groups out there.  Don’t alcoholics have sponsors?  Someone they call if they’re about to make a bad decision?  Maybe I need a sponsor to call when I’m overcome with bad ideas & need some encouragement.  Maybe I should carry a card with me that has some of the above quotes and scriptures on it so I can pull it out and remind myself.  Maybe I should write down my daughter’s stinging words “Mommy, your legs are fat.”   That’ll surely remind me what I’m doing and WHY I’m doing it.  I am frustrated but I’m also encouraged.  I know I can do this – I’ve tried losing weight many times before but I’ve never once in my life tried to beat this disease.  There’s a difference and I’m finding out day by day what those differences are and how to overcome this mess I’ve gotten myself into.

2 thoughts on “Stupid wagon

  1. Tammy, everyone who has tried to lose weight has fallen off the wagon. It’s human nature to make mistakes. What we need to do is to learn from our mistakes and I think you have taken the first step in the right direction. The idea of a sponsor is excellent. I also like the idea of a card with quotes of encouragement that you can pull out and read when you are tempted. I will keep you in my thoughts and prayers and if you ever want to talk, please feel free to contact me. I’ve been up to 248 lbs. and now I’m at 150 lbs. My weight loss is contributed mostly to medication the doctor had me on that since has been discontinued. However, I have tried every diet known to man since 1972 so I do know what you are going through. May God bless you with the courage and fortitude you need to follow the path you have chosen. Take care.

    Like

  2. Tams! My goodness! I am just reading this! ((HUGS)) First off, don’t be so hard on yourself! You went out to eat to celebrate your hubby’s existence. That’s a good reason to celebrate! Now, the idea about the quotes is AWESOME! Only, don’t put them in your wallet! Put them EVERYWHERE! On the fridge. On the bathroom mirror. On your closet. ANYWHERE you need reminding! (I’ve done this, G just deals with it! – HA). I have a pic of me. “THE” pic of me that was the final straw and gave me the final push, on my fridge. You have one (everyone does). You don’t WANT to look at it. LOOK AT IT!!! Most people will think you’re focusing on your looks – which is vanity, however, your outward appearance only shows what’s going on inside. I was carrying around 51 lbs EVERY SECOND OF EVERY DAY for years. I can’t even carry my youngest child around without getting worn out and he’s only 30 lbs. 51 lbs. Figure out what you want to lose. How much. Whether it’s 25 or 50 lbs, however much it is, figure a number. Next time you go to the grocery store go to the produce department. Lay out THAT MUCH WEIGHT in potatoes, either in your cart or on the floor beside your purse. Take a picture. Put them back. Put THAT pic on the fridge. No one will know what it means. Then, set your goals in 5% increments. YOu wanna lose 50lbs? Set a goal of 2.5 lbs in a realistic time frame (we’re women, I’d say give yourself a month – just a ‘little’ wiggle room for hormone fluctuations/water retention, etc…). Work towards it. Monitor what you eat (keep a journal of EVERYTHING you eat or drink – EVERYTHING!!!!!!!!). Monitor your activity in that journal too! (even mundane tasks like cleaning). Try to keep your eating healthy – whole wheats, etc… and your activity BUSY! You CAN do this! I KNOW it! I’m rambling at this point, but call/text/email me whenever you want! This is a war, not a battle! A war you will fight forever. Arm yourself with the knowledge you need to win it. The difference between food and alcohol is that you NEED food. Like I said, arm yourself! It’s worth the fight! YOU are worth the fight! Your grandkids will be thankful you fought it one day! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

