One Day Sober

So, what’s holding you back?  Well, I’ll share w/ you what’s holding me back.  My weight.  I feel pretty successful in taking care of our home, being a helpmate to my husband, being active in our church, homeschooling our children and running Tammy Lanham Images.  But I am a complete walking disaster when it comes to taking care of my health.  So, I have enlisted the services of my life coach Brian Osher.  Here’s what I gleaned from the “Wise One” (aka Brian) in our session tonight:

*If I want to make a big difference in my weight, make small, consistent adjustments in my diet & exercise.

*When you have a strong enough reason, you can do anything.

*There’s plenty of ways to lose the weight but none of them will work without a commitment.

*When you dig your teeth in, you can accomplish anything.

*Action = Motivation = More Action = Results

Sounds like a pretty smart guy, huh?  🙂  I am convinced that for me, deciding to lose weight is the equivalent of someone with a drinking problem going to AA.  I have never dealt with drinking issues but I deal daily with my own demon – an eating problem.  I think about food, I enjoy planning meals, shopping for it, cooking it and discovering new ways to prepare it.  It’s all I think about.  So, I’m going to start handling it like a disease.  I’m going to get through the rest of today making wise food decisions.  Then, I start a new day tomorrow and I will decide THEN what I will do.  I need a chip or something to recognize my one day sober….

Leave a Reply

